The 12 Days of Christmas Book Tag ☃️

Merry Christmas and a happy holidays to you all dear readers! I hope you all are enjoying a wonderful morning & day with your family, or at least treating yourself to a relaxing, cozy day. And of course, I hope all your bookish wishlist dreams came true! 😊

I was looking for a fun Christmas-ey post to do for today, and I saw this book tag done by Nancy @ Graphic Novelty². The original tag was created several years ago by YouTuber Lizzie Loves Books. It’s pretty straightforward – answer the bookish questions based on the classic Christmas carol, “The 12 Days of Christmas”!

1. A Partridge in a Pear Tree: Favorite Stand-Alone Book?

I have a lot of favorite stand alones, but the first that comes to mind when asked this question is Uprooted by Naomi Novik. It’s a fantasy with fairy tale vibes and a steamy romance to boot, perfectly encapsulated in one volume. It’s one of those I wish there were more of, but regardless I love it for what it is.

2. Two Turtle Doves: Fictional OTP/Favorite Ship?

Not to be as basic as possible – but Feyre and Rhysand from A Court of Thorns and Roses series are up in my top favorites. I’m also quite fond of Sancia and Berenice in Robert Jackson Bennett’s Foundryside.

3. Three French Hens: Favorite Trilogy?

The first that comes to mind is the Shades of Magic trilogy by V.E. Schwab! I love this world. and characters – honestly it’s about time I reread it.

4. Four Calling Birds: Favorite Fictional Beast/Creature?

Oh my gosh there are so many – I’ve always loved Hedwig and Buckbeak from Harry Potter, but I was also recently rewatching the Beatrix Potter animated series, and remembering how much her characters meant to me growing up!

5. Five Golden Rings: Show Five Golden Books

Well, here are the first five golden-ish book covers from my gallery, enjoy! :)

6. Six Geese a Laying: Rotten Egg- What’s Your Least Favorite Book?

Well, this year I was sadly very disappointed with The Atlas Six by Olivie Blake. My lowest rated book of all time, however, was Children of the Dark by Jonathan Janz: the only time I’ve ever given a book one star. 😬

7. Seven Swans a Swimming: Show a Book with Water on the Cover

Here are seven, why not!!

8. Eight Maids a Milking: What Fictional Food Do You Wish You Could Taste?

Oh my gosh, so much food in Harry Potter sounds delicious – when I was younger, though, I especially wanted to partake in the Halloween feast in Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.

9. Nine Ladies Dancing: Favorite Dance Between Two Characters?

The tension and anticipation in the ball scene in A Sorcery of Thorns sticks out to me to this day – I loved that scene.

10. Ten Lords a Leaping: Favorite Book-To-Movie-Adaptation?

Maybe an unpopular opinion time? But I think Peter Jackson’s adaptations of The Lord of the Rings were actually really well done. I understand why he cut certain things out (especially Tom Bombadil), and overall I think he really captured the feel of the books. I definitely prefer the extended editions when watching, however.

11. Eleven Pipers Piping: Favorite Book-To-Movie-Adaptation Soundtrack?

Again, gotta go with The Lord of the Rings on this one – I can’t think of many soundtracks that move me the way that Howard Shore’s score does.

12. Twelve Drummers Drumming: It’s The End of The Song; What’s Your Favorite Book Ending?

Thinking of things I’ve read recently, I really enjoyed the ending to Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid – much more so than The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo. I also really enjoyed the vibe and ending of Vespertine, Margaret Rogerson’s latest release. It was a bit of a departure in tone from her previous works, but I quite liked it.

And that’s all folks! I hope you enjoyed this fun little tag – give it a go yourself if you find it fun!

Again, I hope you all have a wonderful Christmas and holiday weekend. Thanks for stopping by and reading!

xx Zoë

One thought on “The 12 Days of Christmas Book Tag ☃️

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.